Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Where should I honestly begin? Well... it's now Tuesday night, after midnight going into Wednesday. Just got back from Soft, one of the bars in town. It's unbelievable how chill the nights are here, everyone is so down to earth and so easy to get along with. I will definately be attending beaucoups plusieurs soirs pour le Mardi Café.





Maybe I should back track a little before getting into my courses and all that mess. So this past weekend... How can I describe it? It goes beyond memorable.. Being here is almost like having a permanent rush of adrenaline. Everything I see, every corner I turn, the cathedrals, the old buildings, les rues, the locals, it's all so overwhelming and beautiful. I can't count how many times I've been downtown and back from the grocery stores, I had a little crisis over the weekend with my converter which thankfully ended in a new adapter and some good wine. I still have no sense of time, and last week was all basically a huge blur of amazing experiences so I can't recall the day but maybe Sunday? Everyone ended up at two of our friends' host house, which was absolutely gorgeous by the way. There was almost 20 of us just drinking wine and having some good laughs. We were up in this loft-type area of the house, and in one of the corners stood this knee high amazing like case type thing with the "Friends" logo plastered all over it and pictures of all them and slots for each DVD, I WAS AMAZED!! haha It was so awesome!! One of my friends who live with the family actually told me the parents used Friends as a way to teach them English. Omg this was just the most perfect thing in the world for me. Even though I brought every single DVD of Friends to France with me, it's nice to know others share my obsession here too! It was so cute! Hopefully Lauren is reading this so atleast one person understands my excitement! And all the DVDs were in French and began with "Ce qui..." instead of "The One With.." Awesome!






A little bit of drama occured over the weekend but whatever, there's a ton of us and how could it not happen? But it's so crazy to think back over the past few days and think that I've only known these people for a short time and it seems like forever. Everyone I have met so far is just incredible. And I keep meeting more and more amazing people as the days go on, it's great and I hope it never stops!






I'm really tired at the moment so if this blog entry seems at all repetitive or flakey, sorry in advance haha.






So I've basically skimmed over the just of what occured this weekend.. the days basically constited of exploring the town during the day, walking like forever, shopping in the boutiques a bit, running errands, and awesome suppers and bars at the end of every day. I'm guessing by the end of the semester the Oriental Restaurant chick will know us all by name, same with the amazing bartender at Soft (Cecile?).






Oh another tidbit I should probably mention, yes I did sprain my ankle I think it was something like either Friday or.. maybe Saturday? Anyways it's pretty much all healed now but it still hurts if I move it uncomfortably. I fell down the bar stairs.. trying to find.. a french.. friend :) He found me later and kinda hung out and then tried to explain how Canada and the US is the same place. Haha.. Oh don't even get me started on how many times I've been called American or how many times I've been poked fun at for my Canadian "accent". But it's cute I guess everyone loves a Canadian right? Can't argue with that.



Just a walk to the grocery store downtown...


So my courses.. I got placed into the 320 level which is under the 330-420 level which I suppose is okay. I asked to be bumped up but she's gonna let me know by the end of the week, that is if I still wanna be bumped up. In my opinon, a little review never hurt anyone. So far I think I'm going to be taking... (I'll say these in English).. History of Art, Literature, Translation French/English... Grammar.. Oral Expression (kind of like a debating class) ... and of course my 6 hour a week Language course with Madame nazi. Ugh she drives me crazy!! But that's for another time because I need to get to bed!






Oh and I should probably mention that I've gotten to know Megan some more, my roommate, she's pretty sweet. Atleast we talk to each other! Our host family doesn't talk to us AT ALL nor do they acknowledge our exsistence or let us know they're even still alive. I haven't even met the father. Ugh! there's too much to tell for one blog entry! Basically my family situation isn't doing so well.. but I'm right next to the school.. and I'm sure it'll work itself out, I'm more worried about courses right now anyways.






Getting up for probably 7am tomorrow morning or earlier.. Gross.. getting done at around 6pm GROSSER!!.. Then I'm power sleeping for sure! Homework for Friday already!






Hopefully posting again soon!






Bonsoir!






Love from Angers

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Only the second day... really?

So it's the evening as I type this... most likely very early afternoon in my home country.


If there is one thing I learned today, it's that I will never forget this experience as long as I live. This has been such an amazing day... Even though the blisters on my blisters have blisters, it was all worth it. I think one of the guys summed up the crazy realization today when they said, "Guys, we're sitting in France, by a huge fountain, eating baguettes and drinking French wine." I've never felt so surrounded by so many magical things in my life besides when I was little and obsessed with Disney movies.



My day consisted of failing the placement test (kidding) eating at Le Restaurant d'Université, met some more amazing people.. walked all through downtown Angers, saw Le Chateau d'Angers, AMAZING. And again I will be uploading pics later! Then we split off into groups once the amazingly long but well worth it tour was over. 5 of us broke off and went downtown again, on a goal to relax and have some cheap wine. We finally got to Monoprix (it's like a French Superstore) where we just looked around, some of us bought wine, beer and baguettes, I will definately buy for the next time! We ended up meeting other English speaking Americans on interns with another institution. It's amazing the people you meet from just a simple "Hey, do you guys know where I could get some egg noodles?" hahaha. Then we headed back up to the park, past the random ponies, and sat on a bench, passed the drinks around, and got incredibly silly.



Simply one of the most random and hilarious days of my life. I have learned today that french really is a language I can completely fall in love with... We all make sure to keep each other speaking French once in a while.. It's definately something else to get looked at strangely on the streets when you're simply speaking English. It's been so hilarious to tell all the Americans things they had no idea about until they met a Canadian. Showing them the currency, telling them about ketchup chips, and Lypsol.. they're still trying to find something I have no idea about! Good Luck! haha!




I didn't eat much today.. I'll probably have some toast later, the stores all close around 7pm here and it's now past that so.. Anyways.... back to some Friends and maybe some more unpacking/facebooking everyone. Getting up for 9am tomorrow morning for some more blisters and awesome experiences.




À demain!




P.S. Mitchell messaged me earlier! I hope that strike allows you to leave soon or that you've already left! Bonne chance mon ami!

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Made it!


Phew. I'm here.


What can I say? There's too much to tell, really. How should I sum up my airport experiences? Well for 1. never eating McDonalds ever again at O'Hare, which should really change it's name to O'Cockroach. and 2. never be afraid to approach people randomly, they could turn out to be promising friends. The Charles de Gaulle airport was amazing and hilarious. The train station was crazy cold but I met some nice girls who I'll be studying with and we made it through. Without them I have no idea how I would have actually made the train.


Met my house mother, she is amazingly sweet. Met two boys, Armand and Etienne. Raphael I have yet to meet. Armand is sick, Etienne carried my bags up all 4 sets of stairs. Yes, I'm on the top floor, and I'll be definately coming back to Canada in June very much in shape, Haha. With all this walking I'm looking at... school, laundromat, stairs. It's going to be an experience that's for sure.


There is an American student living upstairs with me, her name is Megan, whom I should actually be giving credit to considering she helped me read some crazy handwriting that finally got me online!


It's actually uncomfortably cold up here in this room.. but I have a nice view and warm blankets to help me through til warm spring comes which shouldn't be too long now! It's also a very lovely, old-looking room with everything I need, desk, bed , armoire, shelves, lamps everything! It's a 19th century building.. very old but huge and gorgeous, the garden is even more beautiful. I have a lovely 2 door "calma" window right beside my desk. It's meant to keep out car noises and gives me a lovely view of some of the city. I'll be uploading photos soon!


I need to say that I honestly couldn't have done this without the help and support of my incredibly amazing mother. I will miss her so much while I'm gone. I love you, Mom.


I will miss everyone terribly until I make it back in June!


Wish me luck in my placement test tomorrow! Going to get back to watching Friends and finishing up my quiche :)


Love from Angers