Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Only the second day... really?

So it's the evening as I type this... most likely very early afternoon in my home country.


If there is one thing I learned today, it's that I will never forget this experience as long as I live. This has been such an amazing day... Even though the blisters on my blisters have blisters, it was all worth it. I think one of the guys summed up the crazy realization today when they said, "Guys, we're sitting in France, by a huge fountain, eating baguettes and drinking French wine." I've never felt so surrounded by so many magical things in my life besides when I was little and obsessed with Disney movies.



My day consisted of failing the placement test (kidding) eating at Le Restaurant d'Université, met some more amazing people.. walked all through downtown Angers, saw Le Chateau d'Angers, AMAZING. And again I will be uploading pics later! Then we split off into groups once the amazingly long but well worth it tour was over. 5 of us broke off and went downtown again, on a goal to relax and have some cheap wine. We finally got to Monoprix (it's like a French Superstore) where we just looked around, some of us bought wine, beer and baguettes, I will definately buy for the next time! We ended up meeting other English speaking Americans on interns with another institution. It's amazing the people you meet from just a simple "Hey, do you guys know where I could get some egg noodles?" hahaha. Then we headed back up to the park, past the random ponies, and sat on a bench, passed the drinks around, and got incredibly silly.



Simply one of the most random and hilarious days of my life. I have learned today that french really is a language I can completely fall in love with... We all make sure to keep each other speaking French once in a while.. It's definately something else to get looked at strangely on the streets when you're simply speaking English. It's been so hilarious to tell all the Americans things they had no idea about until they met a Canadian. Showing them the currency, telling them about ketchup chips, and Lypsol.. they're still trying to find something I have no idea about! Good Luck! haha!




I didn't eat much today.. I'll probably have some toast later, the stores all close around 7pm here and it's now past that so.. Anyways.... back to some Friends and maybe some more unpacking/facebooking everyone. Getting up for 9am tomorrow morning for some more blisters and awesome experiences.




À demain!




P.S. Mitchell messaged me earlier! I hope that strike allows you to leave soon or that you've already left! Bonne chance mon ami!

No comments:

Post a Comment