Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Where should I honestly begin? Well... it's now Tuesday night, after midnight going into Wednesday. Just got back from Soft, one of the bars in town. It's unbelievable how chill the nights are here, everyone is so down to earth and so easy to get along with. I will definately be attending beaucoups plusieurs soirs pour le Mardi Café.





Maybe I should back track a little before getting into my courses and all that mess. So this past weekend... How can I describe it? It goes beyond memorable.. Being here is almost like having a permanent rush of adrenaline. Everything I see, every corner I turn, the cathedrals, the old buildings, les rues, the locals, it's all so overwhelming and beautiful. I can't count how many times I've been downtown and back from the grocery stores, I had a little crisis over the weekend with my converter which thankfully ended in a new adapter and some good wine. I still have no sense of time, and last week was all basically a huge blur of amazing experiences so I can't recall the day but maybe Sunday? Everyone ended up at two of our friends' host house, which was absolutely gorgeous by the way. There was almost 20 of us just drinking wine and having some good laughs. We were up in this loft-type area of the house, and in one of the corners stood this knee high amazing like case type thing with the "Friends" logo plastered all over it and pictures of all them and slots for each DVD, I WAS AMAZED!! haha It was so awesome!! One of my friends who live with the family actually told me the parents used Friends as a way to teach them English. Omg this was just the most perfect thing in the world for me. Even though I brought every single DVD of Friends to France with me, it's nice to know others share my obsession here too! It was so cute! Hopefully Lauren is reading this so atleast one person understands my excitement! And all the DVDs were in French and began with "Ce qui..." instead of "The One With.." Awesome!






A little bit of drama occured over the weekend but whatever, there's a ton of us and how could it not happen? But it's so crazy to think back over the past few days and think that I've only known these people for a short time and it seems like forever. Everyone I have met so far is just incredible. And I keep meeting more and more amazing people as the days go on, it's great and I hope it never stops!






I'm really tired at the moment so if this blog entry seems at all repetitive or flakey, sorry in advance haha.






So I've basically skimmed over the just of what occured this weekend.. the days basically constited of exploring the town during the day, walking like forever, shopping in the boutiques a bit, running errands, and awesome suppers and bars at the end of every day. I'm guessing by the end of the semester the Oriental Restaurant chick will know us all by name, same with the amazing bartender at Soft (Cecile?).






Oh another tidbit I should probably mention, yes I did sprain my ankle I think it was something like either Friday or.. maybe Saturday? Anyways it's pretty much all healed now but it still hurts if I move it uncomfortably. I fell down the bar stairs.. trying to find.. a french.. friend :) He found me later and kinda hung out and then tried to explain how Canada and the US is the same place. Haha.. Oh don't even get me started on how many times I've been called American or how many times I've been poked fun at for my Canadian "accent". But it's cute I guess everyone loves a Canadian right? Can't argue with that.



Just a walk to the grocery store downtown...


So my courses.. I got placed into the 320 level which is under the 330-420 level which I suppose is okay. I asked to be bumped up but she's gonna let me know by the end of the week, that is if I still wanna be bumped up. In my opinon, a little review never hurt anyone. So far I think I'm going to be taking... (I'll say these in English).. History of Art, Literature, Translation French/English... Grammar.. Oral Expression (kind of like a debating class) ... and of course my 6 hour a week Language course with Madame nazi. Ugh she drives me crazy!! But that's for another time because I need to get to bed!






Oh and I should probably mention that I've gotten to know Megan some more, my roommate, she's pretty sweet. Atleast we talk to each other! Our host family doesn't talk to us AT ALL nor do they acknowledge our exsistence or let us know they're even still alive. I haven't even met the father. Ugh! there's too much to tell for one blog entry! Basically my family situation isn't doing so well.. but I'm right next to the school.. and I'm sure it'll work itself out, I'm more worried about courses right now anyways.






Getting up for probably 7am tomorrow morning or earlier.. Gross.. getting done at around 6pm GROSSER!!.. Then I'm power sleeping for sure! Homework for Friday already!






Hopefully posting again soon!






Bonsoir!






Love from Angers

No comments:

Post a Comment